Eden Town Board

The Eden Town Board is comprised of four councilmembers, all elected at-large (representing the entire Town, not a specific area), and the Supervisor. Together, these five elected officials comprise the legislative branch of our government. Each member has one vote with a majority vote required for the passage of most legislation. The Supervisor, who is the Chief Executive Officer and also the head of the executive branch of government, does not have veto power.

Elected to four years terms during odd numbered years, where only two may run at a time, councilmembers are responsible for the passage of all legislation. They are responsible for the adoption of the Town's capital budget and making all decisions relating to personnel matters and property rezoning. Every year, each councilmember is assigned various liaisons by the Supervisor. Listed below are the members of the Eden Town Board and their assigned liaison committees. All departments are covered by these assignments as well as many standing committees and outside agencies and organizations.

In addition to the Town Board positions, each elected officer serves as "liaison" to various committees as listed below to enhance communication, between the board and the committee and assist in support of that committee when needed.

Melissa Hartman, Supervisor
(716) 992-3408

    Director of Civil Defense
    Comprehensive Plan Implementation Committee
    Association of Erie County Governments
    Southtowns Water Consortium
    Community Development Block Grant
    Rural Transit Service Advisory Board

Richard Ventry, Deputy Supervisor

    Historic Preservation Committee
    Assessment Board of Review Committee
    Southtowns Community Enhancement Coalition
    Planning Board Committee
    Eden Fire Department
    East Eden Fire Department

Mary Lou Pew, Councilmember
Phone: (716) 992-2766

    Eden Disaster Preparedness Committee
    Eden Fire Department
    East Eden Fire Department
    Eden Emergency and Rescue Squad
    Zoning Board of Appeals
    Technology Committee
    Code Review Committee
    Comprehensive Masterplan Implementation Committee
    Hamlet Revitalization Committee

Susan Wilhem, Councilman

    Eden Recreation Department
    Historic Preservation Committee
    Library Committee
    NEST - Solid Waste Committee
    Agricultural Advisory Board
    Planning Board

Michael Byrnes, Councilman

    Eden Chamber of Commerce
    Economic Development
    Conservation Committee
    Street Lights Committee
    Drainage Committee


Melissa Hartman

Mary Lou Pew

Susan Wilhem

Richard Ventry

Michael Byrnes